Marvel’s What If…? Everything we know so far about the upcoming Disney+ series

Know what the premise for this unique is, and where it will fit in the main storyline for Phase 4

What If…? is a new series that will be releasing as part of the MCU’s Phase 4 on Disney+. It’s story is based on the comic series of the same name that came out in 1977, and will consist of ten episodes. It discusses the twists of fate and alternative storylines in the vast Marvel Cinematic Universe. The Disney+ version was written and developed by A.C. Bradley, and the narration will be by Uatu, the Watcher, voiced by Jeffrey Wright.

The comic history

The first volume of the What If…? comics ran from 1977 to 1984, and the second volume ran from 1989 to 1998. After that, 11 more volumes have been written, with the most recent one coming out in 2018. It featured characters like Ghost Rider, Magik, the Punisher, Thor, Spider-Man, and the X-Men. While announcing the arrival of the series, Marvel Chief Creative Officer Kevin Feige also announced that production for its second season has started.

What If...?

From the trailer, we get a brief idea about all the what ifs that could’ve happened. We see T’Challa, aka the Black Panther becoming Star-Lord, Peggy Carter receiving the super soldier serum and becoming Captain Britain, Bucky Barnes facing a zombie Captain America, and Doctor Strange fighting another version of himself. Other characters such as Thor, Hawk Eye, Captain Marvel, Nick Fury and Iron Man have brief appearances but we do not know the premises for their respective narratives.

The original cast members will be returning to voice the characters, including the late Chadwick Boseman as T’Challa.

Release date

What If...?

Marvel is currently focused on airing  WandaVision and hasn’t announced a release date for What If…? It’s expected to release around mid-2021 but as of now, we are not sure if it will release before or after Falcon and the Winter Soldier. 

You may also like: Frontier season 4 updates

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.